Animation rotation– Part 1

Animation is always a subject/topic that I end up approaching on a daily basis in my life, if it isn’t for myself watching anime series or even if I spend some time watching someone else’s animations for their very own projects, or even if I ever wanted to make a quick gif image to send to someone online for a joke; I always come back to the topic.

The topic wasn’t at all new to me. In my past Universities I’ve been to, I had two very different projects to do with animation. The first one was a narrative stop animation and the second one was for a film trailer. I also did get to study this particular topic back in secondary school, however, I wanted to try something different that didn’t involve me making something to complicated to work with.

Now, getting back to this rotation, we were given some examples of what our animation could turn out like, if we were able to, or were to consider taking this project even further in future. I won’t mention the titles of the videos because the other groups may be looking at these next time, so I’ll leave it a surprise. I will however mention, that one of them reminded me of the animations used in a game series, I enjoy playing occasionally:

The aspect of this animation I adore the most, is not only the art style, but the movement of each layer in this piece. I don’t often get to see this sort of style of animation, so it was such a source of inspiration for me and the fact that the facial expressions on the characters are quite strong works. I state this purely because they do give impact to the animation and create emotion. To add, the music/sound effects also have a high influence on the video; it creates mood.

Moving on, we were all asked to work on a six by two storyboard with some notes, this was to give us some ideas of what our animation may turn out like. I have to admit that I was having some trouble doing this task, this was due to that I had several ideas I wanted to do, but they were too complicated and they may drag on. I didn’t want that.

I had to think to myself of these key things, that could make the storyboard successful:

  • What do I want the animation to show?
  • Is it a narrative or not?
  • Will it have sound or background music?
  • If this animation is going to loop, how will I do that?
  • Will there be a particular style to this animation?
  • How long will it be?
  • Will it be stop-motion, drawn, or animated on the computer?
  • If stop-motion, how will the objects be displayed?

I figured out, that if I thought about the answers to questions first, then I would get an idea. So, I did and it did get me started.

scanner@londonmet.ac.uk_20151116_105618-page-001

an

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

