Animation rotation— Part 2

During the afternoon of this session, we were given some notes/tips on how to make a successful animation or storyboard by Keiron. Skimming through it quickly, it gave me major nostalgia of when I received some similar tips from an IT teacher I had in secondary.

I had made my own similar tasks on the main principles of animation. Principles such as:

  • Exaggeration
  • Log sheets
  • Stretching
  • Follow through actions
  • Easing in and out
  • Overlapping actions
  • Arcs
  • Pose to pose animation
  • Timing
  • Staging
  • Straight ahead animation

Looking back at my chosen storyboard, I had some more considerations to think about, if I want to make this animation successful:

  • -Meaning- Narrative?
  • What mediums will be used for animation?
  • Test the process.
  • Work with idea– Try to give idea a theme and extend it.
  • Sound– Narrator? music? What kind of music will it be?

Not to mention, the quote for the day for me was “The most effective animation, is to get your message/what you want across.”

So, if my theme is circles and that there are many objects that can morph in to that shape, I need to do that. Once I required some advice from Keiron on my storyboard idea, he helped me to take the idea further by finding some more images of round objects. This was indeed very helpful, and it was what I did try to interpret this theme, still I didn’t want to make it complicated. Although, if I extend the animation by having 2, 3 or even 4 more roundish objects in it, I may be able to get the message across.

What I shall take to mind is, that I need to think about how I’m going to make one object transition in to another object.

DRAGONFRAME

A stop capture software, we’ve looked at and what I’ll most probably use during the week. What I’ve learned so far from this software, is that if I use this software, it’s very reliant on light and shadows taken in from the camera. I need to be wary of whose in my space, and where I am, if I’m right near the area of where I am filming because if any shadow, movement or light change is made, it will affect the overall outcome of my video.

Some notes made for my animation:

  • Make circle bounce 2 or 3 times before changing.
  • Sound– Maybe Black betty? it has a good beat and rhythm, which will easily sync in with the movement of the objects.
  • Frame rate: 25 frps
  • Might try scanning the images in, instead of capturing them on photo, to reduce the risk of capturing shadows.
Leave a Reply

