The Eric Gill Exhibition

Recording some of the amazing type footage, that was on display at The Eric Gill Exhibition; I found myself looking at type with a such high respect. From being given a quick talk from some of the expert typographers that were in the exhibition that day, they explained that type was developed from drawing. Taking this to mind, you could probably take any image, draw and develop it to create a font face from it? To me this was quite intriguing.  The styles of type seem to also reflect on the types of tools used, or even the mood you want that type face to create.

Looking through my taken photos of the artists piece on display, I did start to notice the different variations in the styles in how a specific letter, number or even puncuation was depicted.

For example, the letter bellow which was written by Gill. Each word is scrawled down so elegantly and I admire how as he talks about the subject, he wants to speak about in the letter, he shows it: The y he requires is y. Its as if he’s giving the receiver a clearer idea of what he’s talking about, without them having to look it up.

Here, are some more of the photographs taken in that hour there.

Another things to keep in mind, is that the text/typography has to reflect on the purpose that it’s being used for. There are also other little things, that I need to bear in mind, such as:

  1. Prototypes and variations before building up a type face.
  2. Typefaces are about mood.
  3. Typefaces and font are not the same thing.
  4. Type faces are the set style in which it needs to look like.
  5. Font is the size, boldness.
  6. Some type faces take up to three years to develop.

Seeing all of these considerations, I no longer see the type face as just a type face. I need to think about why I’m using it and what purpose it is for. It would be nice to probably consider these highlights for the tutorials next time. It could be, if I were to take my letter press work further, I could play around with the different type face to reflect mood or give the words context than just words and image.

 

 

Leave a Reply

