CCS- 8th December 2015

It’s the second week of CCS and we’re continuing our discussion of Modernism and post-modernism. This session was narrowing down what the two subjects are, and how they’ve influenced the art that we have now. I found this talk to be very interesting, and that it can then be helpful towards my research used for the essay, or any of the work that I may need to produce in future. It allows me to think in to more depth of what subject or if/how could the object can be either modern or post modern. To add to what I’ve just mentioned, it would be a good idea, if I considered questioning myself about the object while writing the essay in the chosen writing style because not only will the writing style for the essay will reflect on how I will write about the object, but asking questions, such as ‘Would this object be considered modern or post modern?’ could change the conclusion to the result(s) produced in the piece of writing(essay).

If I want a successful essay, I will need to pay attention to specific details given as to why that object is post modern or modern because it will also help support my discussion.

I’ve managed to jot down a few notes, as the presentation was very brief, so it was difficult to follow:

Modernism- Influences principle and legacy.

  • Modernism was not conceived as a style… a range o movements…
  • Support embrace of the ‘new’
  • A reflection of history
  • A utopia desire to create a better world, to retrieval
  • a belief in power and potential of the machines and industry
  • industrialism and the arts and crafts
  • reaction to industrialisation
  • good taste
  • new style
  • changing times of the past

As for the section on post modernism; I was unable to obtain the notes. When I get some time later in the week, I’ll find the powerpoint up on weblearn and make some. However, I think post modernism is quite hard to describe; it’s got so many different things to put to it, but it’s hard to firmly grasp what it is exactly. With most post modern objects, they were more about the look and NOT the function that it was intended to be used for. Though, some post modern objects may seem like they have a function to them, which makes this hard for us to make a decision on whether or not it is modern or post modern.

 

 

Leave a Reply

