A day at the Bethnal green museum.

As this was one of the Museums I had been suggested to go to, I thought I would take the opportunity to go and check it out. The journey was pretty quick via the underground tubes and it’s just a short walk from Bethnal green’s station. I’m not quite use to traveling around London on my own, or visiting new places by myself and I tend to get lost on the way, but the trips are quite a satisfying thing to do once in a while. From the front of the building, it appears to be pretty small, but once you enter, it’s like the Tardis– It’s very spacious and there’s a lot to check out!

Once entering, I found myself drawn to the first display which was for the exhibition ‘The Tales we Tell: Indian Warli Painting’. The exhibition are currently presenting a series of very intriguing tribal paintings from Western India, which I will explain in a later post. I did capture some photos of this; they’ll also be included in the post.

 

As I moved on, I headed on over to the toys and many other creative things that were in the collections behind the glass boxes. Now, as this visit was to find an object, or several objects between the times of 1918 to 1985, I had to focus myself and not get too immersed in the toys. Toys have always interested me in terms of how they can entertain, not only children, but adults as well. Though, I would have to contemplate, that the object I may be writing about could be a toy.

 

 

 

 

If so, there are a few questions I would have to bear in mind: How do they function? what grabs the audiences eye? does this toy have any social value? or how has it affected society? 

Not only did they have toys, but thy had memorabilia.

 

 
EDIT: As promised I have the photographs of the Indian warli paintings from the Museum of Childhood and I’ll be discussing them in this post.

The Indian warli paintings displayed depict tales, events and every day life.

 

 

An example of one of the artist’s prints that they had created. The use of a bold, dark colour allows the lines to pop right out of the canvas.

 

Leave a Reply

