Critical Thinking rotation– 1/2

Starting of the week, I was placed in to group B and this was our chance to do some Critical thinking. In my opinion, when approaching this subject, I always make the assumption that critical thinking allows us to ask our selves questions on the things we do or what has been presented. Asking ourselves questions, such as ‘Why’, ‘How’, ‘What’ and ‘When’. It goes much further than this; we have to always consider including the special three W’s and the H words, though, we need to take it to other places. You have to put in a lot of thought in to the production, progress and reflect.

As an illustrator, I often find myself thinking about whether or not does my image strongly reflect what I want to get across or does the stories I write make any sense to other people? what can I do to grasp their attention?

Being given the last task, as I was not in on the Monday of that week; the task was to create two pages for the Zine– The center page and the front page. I also had to select one pillar from the following subjects: Aesthetics, Epistemology, Ethics, Logic, Metaphysics and Politics.

I was tempted to go with Politics, as my family discuss it quite a bit. I’m usually sat in my chair in the middle of it, just nodding my head and pretending that I understand every single word my sibling and father have to say. Then again, I gave the decision more thought and went with ethics. Ethics usually fit in to morality and what’s right and wrong. I found this amusing because this reminds me of the subject I chose to do for my poster project, so I had some ideas already for what I could do.

What I’ve started to do in my sketchbook is, I’ve begun to break down what Ethics is and what examples could be given from it. I also began to draw quick thumbnail ideas for the front cover, which will be based on the title ‘Thinking it and saying it’. By being playful with the words ‘thinking’ and ‘saying’; the first two images that came to mind were a head and a mouth. The head contains the brain/mind which is thinking so many things, while speech comes out of your mouth.

Another page used for some ideas or quotes I’ve come up with. I wanted to try and narrow my ethic subject to be based on the saying ‘It’s not the end of the world’ because I always find that I tend to over worry about things not going the way it should, or that there’s no going back to undo or redo it, but that’s all wrong. There’s always time, there’s always a way of mending your mistakes.

I will discuss this subject further in my next post. That will be posted up tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

