Critical thinking — 2/2

Welcome back to another update on the Critical thinking rotation. This time I’ll be quickly whizzing through the last half of the work I’ve accomplished so far for that week; I would like to also let you all keep in mind, that this is a on-going project, so it is not totally complete yet.
I would also like to put forward what I had discussed yesterday; I started to talk about the subject, and my thoughts on the term ‘Critical thinking’, I mentioned that for the fanzine project, I would narrow the theme down to Ethics and the saying ‘It’s not the end of the world’.
Actually, talking about this saying, it could of been stated in so many ways, but I found myself stuck with a similar saying which highlights the wrong doing, but then ends in a positive outtake: ‘If it’s wrong, only YOU can change it.’
it’s quite a true ethic which I look up to and follow myself. I had a quote from a manga series that particularly influenced my style of writing and drawing now, and it goes like this ‘Dream exist to be realized. If you don’t do it, who’s going to?’. It’s true. Not only when you find yourself stuck or hoping to do something that seems impossible; only you can be the one to accomplish the thing you want to achieve. No one else. It’s you who has to pick up those pieces at the end of the day.

Taking this idea forward, I got some ideas down. I wanted to do something humorous, or try to play on the word ‘change’. Change can mean plenty of things, depending on the person using it. Change can be money, change can mean a process or form that is different from it once was. I had three things I wanted to do for this, but I had to consider that it needed to make sense to almost everyone who was going to possibly look at it.
So, the idea of having someone in the drawing go to a change exchange store was out of the picture.

Rubbers/Erasers are often use to erase the mistakes we make and I thought this could possibly be a good method of communicating to the person looking at it. I had some advise from Sara about considering the style of text and making adjustments to the hand, to make it look as if it’s hand drawn to fit in with the idea. This was pretty helpful advise because it opened my thoughts on how i could think about publishing this; I need to keep in mind of how I’m going to do this. I was planning on producing the text in the screen printing room, or drawing it down and scanning it in for Photoshop. On the other hand, I could link this project back to what I’ve learnt in mark making and use mediums such as, charcoal or pencils.

This saying wasn’t the only one I had; I also had another saying I wanted to work with, but coming up with ideas was tough. I did, however, make a very draft ideas, but really, the first idea stood out in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

