CP4014 MINI BLOCK 2 DESIGN AND THE MEANING OF STYLE

Taking advantage of the free day, which is today. I’ve started to lay out and plan my design for my essay. I’ve come to terms with which object I’m going to write and discuss about, but I thought it would be a great idea to carefully layout (using tables in Microsoft word) the blog layout. Image 3

Usually, when I want to start planning out anything that involves writing, I tend to think about how I can set the layout first to help get me in the state of mind to encourage me to get it done. I also had to think about the kind of style I want my writing to be presented in for this essay because the layout style will also reflect on the writing style.

As of the essay, I’m planning to discuss the cloth puppet of Punch from Punch and Judy that was on the display in the Bethnal green Museum of Childhood. I chose the puppet; there’s a lot I could talk about in terms of history and I honestly think, that Punch and Judy were a comical influence to the UK in Slapstick comedy. They’re also influential politically.

There wasn’t a lot of information about the object on the V&A website, sadly. However, with the few details given about the materials used to create it, I should be able to pull off the creative process. I may have to look in to puppetry.

Thinking back on the references and information I’ve gathered up in the past three weeks, I don’t think I’ve done terribly so far on preparation, but I need to consider, that if I need to plan something, such as an essay, I need to get the planning done with in two weeks or less. Although, it’s taken me less time in this module compared to the review module to get to the stage that I’m at currently. It would’ve been more helpful, if the V&A museum had provided a little bit more information about the puppets… t̶h̶a̶t̶’̶s̶ ̶l̶i̶k̶e̶ ̶w̶i̶s̶h̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶f̶o̶r̶ ̶m̶o̶n̶e̶y̶ ̶t̶o̶ ̶f̶a̶l̶l̶ ̶f̶r̶o̶m̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶s̶k̶y̶.

 

 

Leave a Reply

