Looking visually — 2

I’ve gotten really in to this poster project; it’s made me think that if I can create a poster for a song, I could probably take it further than just a poster. I could create an animation that reflects the song; I could also make a banner, a card, a sleeve and I could do so many other things that will still link back to the song.

Once I got this idea, I started to think about the songs I did consider looking at and it led me to one of my favourite Japanese groups: GOATBED. I spend a lot of my time listening to their music, since it’s different, it relaxes me and if truth be told, I really love the vocalists voice. Their music videos always have some odd visuals to them, it could be flashing lights or a line of different bold, bright colours.

Throughout the visuals reflect the song, and it got me thinking that I really need to consider doing something similar with the posters. I need to use lines, shapes  and colours to strongly depict my feelings for the song and it needs to communicate how the song links to my feelings. It would be a good idea, if I kept in mind that I can do quite a lot with a line.

A line can be repeated many times. Its form can be bent, curled, stretched and so can a shape. Size seems to have a big impact on what someone wants to show as well. Another thing I adored about their music videos were that they were so bold and quirky. The video would start off with one thing; smoothly transition in to another thing and then dramatically cut off on to another piece of footage.

One thought on “Looking visually — 2

Leave a Reply

