What is a poster?

In the previous week, we had two talks that were mainly focusing on the question, ‘What is a poster?’.  The first talk was with Matthew Caley, which I found to be both benificial and interesting towards our current project: The Soundtrack of our lives. He began to give a brief run down on how he started off, which led in to the kinds of music and groups that became known, due to how odd they were at first. This fed back to our project in many ways; it allowed me to think about how much impact did my chosen songs, or even the bands that created them, what kind of appeal did they have to other people? Some people may of seen them as…–excuse me for the use of this word, but ‘lame’ or would stir other opinions. The opinions of others may have a consequence towards how popular the group was or depending on what was seen as ‘the norm’ could also have an affect.

After leaving that small lecture, he began to show us some examples on how the poster could presented, which led me to realise that I could play around with the idea of not having a poster that is flat.

When returning back to the studio on Thursday, we had a small presentation by Sara on what a poster could be. She gave us so many examples of how they could be presented, who they were created by and quite a few of them had a function to them, which allowed people to interact with.

And this is the part of the blog post, where I get to tell you all what I did to reflect in these talks. I thought I could possibly take this poster project a bit further by looking at different ways I could present my poster; I photocopied some final poster ideas and began to test, whether or not they could have a function or not, such as a poster which folds up in to a flyer, or perhaps, a poster that can be turned in to a jigsaw puzzle, seeing as the bold chunks of white on my posters seem to link together. (I’ll update with photos of these later) I’m starting to think, I could possibly try out making an animated prejection as well. However, due to time limit, I’m not sure that will be achievable, but I’m hoping to try it out over the weekend to see how that goes.

Although, getting back to the presentation, there were some interesting ways in how you can apply a function to a poster and seeing if it’s effective or not. I found the posters that were presented by a prejection or with lights to be a very fascinating concept because it’s a new thing to me.

Leave a Reply

