Collect, analyse and (re)collect.

You never ever seem to notice the small collection of books gathering up on your shelf, or even the bundle of pencils, pens ad other stationary that clutters up in your drawers. There’s always a system and a way of how things are organised, and this is the new task that I’ve been set to work on, discuss, analyse, experiment, collect and start to develop.

When I start to think about this subject, I thought at first that this was going to be a pretty, damn hard subject to figure out, but as I returned home and arrived to my room… it hit me.  I have several collections of my own, but I had never considered them as a collection at all and I did have a strategy of how I line them up, organise the objects or even spacing them out in my room a certain way and it’s extraordinary.

As much as I like boasting about my little gathering of figures, or manga; I don’t like talking about it to the whole class. It makes me nervous.

The loom band jar.

My manga collection (which seems to grow every time I go into Waterstones.)

I have far too many keychains/keycharms now, but here’s the collection I have pinned to the wall.

Things to take in to consideration during the project:

What makes them a collection?

what defines them? how do they change when they are a mass? what are their qualities? what do they do? what shape are they? what are their functions? do their qualities change when reassembled? how do you reassemble them/organise them? Are they any different when they are resorted?

Now, the final outcome is going to be a book that’ll document or that will discuss our collection. I’m having a little trouble processing my thoughts/ideas in to how I’ll present my findings into this book, but I do have some ideas of what I want to do for the collection.

Collection ideas:

  1. Things about my cats: This could be a collection of images, sketches of them, I could also have records of events, for example their vet slips, food packaging.
  2. Letter packaging: Collecting a series of different packaging that’s to do with postage.
  3. Cosplay materials: Recording things to do with this subject.
  4. Pencils: I have so many of them, that I can’t even count them all. Pencils are a pillar to anything. You can make many different marks and record in different ways with them; you’ll also get many different results. There’s also so many varieties of pencil types.

A definite collection choice so far for me has been the pencils, I also thought about doing pens, though, a pencil can be recorded in numerous ways. I’m looking forward to playing around with the ideas that I’ve got so far.

One thought on “Collect, analyse and (re)collect.

Leave a Reply

