Collect, analyse & (re)assemble- Part 1

How we organise or do something always has a system to it or we always have a way of doing something, which we don’t pay any heed to. Looking back on this particular subject, I feel quite ecstatic about it, as it can go in many different ways. I can start to put in to consideration of how I’m going to present my collection. I haven’t quite clarified that here, yet, but I shall do so now.

From going over the series of ideas that I mapped out on a brainstorm, I’ve come to the decision of collecting pencils. You can do so much with them, that you don’t even realise. Some may state that they’re only for the use of drawing, but I can tell you that there’s a whole lot more to them than simply that; you can draw, doodle, make many types of marks, model from them, use them to draft, arrange them, catagorise them, build sculptures, use the sharpenings for art and even print the little teeth and scratch marks on to paper. I want to continue with this idea in mind, and focus the subject of pencils on the two words I used in our discussion with Adrian about ideas: ‘Starting point’.  

So, the term ‘starting point’, it could be that I start off with how we started off with pencils as a kid, or the typical functions that we often use them for.  I may present this in a series of different mark making techniques, but I did originally consider this idea and from that, I began collecting many different marks, patterns and textures as references, to help give me an idea of how I can put the pencils to use.

IMG_20160314_152452 IMG_20160314_152348 IMG_20160314_152345 IMG_20160314_152400IMG_20160314_152450  IMG_20160314_152357 IMG_20160314_152340

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Simply to give you a quick grasp of what I’ve been working on for the last couple of days, here are some examples of leave rubbings I’ve done with a few of the pencils:

IMG_20160314_152526

Something I found particularly fascinating about these tests were the different variations of marks, lines and depth you can obtain, depending on the way you move the pencil,  change the pencil or even the technique in how you press the pencil to the page. I chose to experiment with the leaf rubbings first, as it was a starting point that I remember doing in art classes when I was in year 1 or 2 of Primary school. It was one of the first things we would  do with that tool of trade.

While playing around with these; previously, I went ahead and started to draw anything that came to my mind when it came to pencils. It left me with some new ideas, in how we develop our skills with the medium. We can start off drawing a doodle —> then to a sketch —> and later on a detailed drawing.

Some things I may need to keep in mind:

  • What’s going to be presented in the book?
  • How is the book going to be presented?
  • How will the pencil collection be presented?
  • Photos? drawings?

 

 

One thought on “Collect, analyse & (re)assemble- Part 1

Leave a Reply

