New project: Utterly moving words

Words. Words and more words. Our final projects will be to create a typographic moving image piece of 20 seconds with curated footage using original sound; now, when I thought about this project, I had a ton of ideas I could of done, but I need to remind myself of how much time we have to do this. It’s actually quite interesting, this project that is, due to how you need to put the word in to consideration in terms with how you present, or how you use it.

For example, I was playing around with the word ‘Bang’ a lot on Monday. I had drawn the letters out big because the word to me becomes a sound and the sound tends to be very loud, so I put emphasis on this.

When I start to think about just the word, ‘word’, it makes me think back on the Eric Gill exhibition we went to as a class and how I was able to learn about how type was planned, created etc. With every style, there’s an emotion and there’s a reason behind it. So, it could be possible, that I start to think on this level while testing out my moving footage? taking this in consideration, I had a list of questions which I set out for myself during the first presentation:

  • What words will they be?
  • how will they transition? what effect will this cause?
  • sound? will the sound reflect an emotion or follow the text?
  • what kind of sound?
  • Will there be any context given to the type?
  • style? font?
  • What type animation or footage will it be? recorded?

I admit that I’ve tackled this sort of animated footage project before, but not with type. It was with imagery, though, when I think about using type or drawing it, or creating it in general, I think it’s one of my weaknesses. I want to find away of avoiding drawn type again, or I’ll just practice it until it’s clear.

 

Leave a Reply

