Author Reporter studio: Four Corners Books.

Our very first visit/task to help start… well, to finish the week off was a trip to Four Corner Books, located 56 Artillery Lane in London. I must admit, that this is my very first trip to another studio, as I missed the first one during the first year, but this was an amazing experience that wasn’t worth missing again.

It gave me a broader view on how publishing and making design decisions work, or how to organise the space that I’ll work in. I started to believe at some point, that sometimes the room or space that you work in will affect your mentality or the structure in the way that you work. For example, if I have a messy, unorganised space, I find it very difficult to find peace and comfort in it. I can’t sit still and it distracts me. I don’t think I could ever be able to produce anything in such a space.

Thinking back on the subject of the space, I think it’s very relevant to what their studio does. There wasn’t a lot of space for probably a group of people to sit down and work in there, but as there were only two people in that room, it’s most likely that it’s good enough for them to manage. However, if they’re only managing the designs, details and aspects such as that, other than creating the actual book with in that studio, then the space that they have is fine.

Compared to our studio (Author:Reporter at London met), we’ll need to move around a lot or huddle around several tables to help make decisions or give critiques.

However, each studio is going to be different to suit or help serve its purpose or the intended use.

The studio we visited was quite well organised and I noticed there was several shelves. My assumption is that they’re used for reference, design and inspiration, but they did admit that when it comes to a specific project, they would go out and find inspiration or take trips. Taking this in to consideration, it may be a good idea, if I start thinking again about the sorts of inspiration, references etc in the studio that we’re currently in and not only at the University, but at home as well.

img_20161007_1106471

Up above, these are a few examples of their work that they presented neatly to us, they gave us a brief explanation on specific ones for example Dracula. They began to talk about the the specific details they put in as a reflection on past copies. In my opinion, keeping in mind or even researching the particular thing or subject that you’re going to be working with is a good way to start because it opens up your mind and thoughts to try out new techniques or subtle details. I checked out their website; the layout flows very well on all four of my browsers on my desktop PC (Chrome, IE, Firefox and Opera) and also, it works nicely on my android phone. It’s quite easy to navigate as well, that’s an aspect I was particularly keen on.

Over all, it was quite an enjoyable and exciting visit. It made me look at studio culture in a whole different way, than it just being a room for me to work in.

 

Leave a Reply

