Pastiche 1560: Development and possible content outcomes

In my opinion, I don’t think I’ve quite spoken/addressed about this particular project enough yet. It’s a little confusing as to why I’ve left it until now to talk more about it, but well, I’ve been doing quite a bit of research to my narrative of showing how Rebecca Sugar brings her characters to life. (Yes, that’s my narrative) and I’ve come to the conclusion, that through putting these characters through real life scenarios (such as a loss of a loved one, or going through difficulties of admiring someone you can’t be with) is pretty much one way of how she has done this. She’s given them real life emotions with in real life scenarios.

From this, I think that if I can reflect on this by screen grabbing a few scenes as an example to place in to the presentation, it might help to show who I’m presenting this to my narrative behind my idea.

Speaking of that… I started to play around in a digital paint tool called ‘Sai paint tool’. As I prefer to draw my own characters up digitally or by hand, I started to redraw a scene that shows the difficulty a character she’s created, is going through.

perl1screen-shot-2016-11-29-at-1-05-07-pm

For those who haven’t seen the series, nor have seen where this is from, here’s the clip:

mr-_greg_170


Through layout, it singles the one character in the scene to keep it focused on just them and what they’re saying. The hues in the back, also helps to create mood with in the situation. Facial expressions, words and even background music helps to emphasise and helps to guide that character through their set situation.

I would like to try and think about animating small aspects of the background through the video clips, such as the lights and the cities in the background, but I want the speed of these aspects to slowly pass on, until this particular image fades in to the next one.

su1

Another example of a drawing, that I’ll place in for the first slide of the video.

However, putting this particular series aside; I started to investigate a little in to some other works she has created.

I simply find it magnificent how this animation plays out. I was left a little confused as to what was going on, but on the second replay, I started to find there were parts of the animation that I was very keen on.

 

Leave a Reply

