CIP: Week 2- Layouts, content, Collection.

Reflection on this weeks lesson:

When coming to decisions towards page layouts, it’s not as easy or simple as it seems at first. Putting in to consideration of how you want it to look, the content needs to be decided. For example, what’s going to be on that page? An image? Content? Titles? When I was reflecting on these specific aspects, I can’t just sit there and say to myself ‘I want this page to look super awesome and cool!’, in other words ‘attractive’ because that’s not going to work. I had to consider that whatever that’s going to be on the page needs to be clear and understandable for the person who will be looking at my portfolio book, while it maintains a reflection of my own style and way of working of some sorts.

Not only that, I think when banding together in to a group, it also helped with the task because one of us would ask questions, such as ‘how are you going to lay it out?’; ‘what size is the book?’ etc. In my opinion, keeping questions like these in mind, it helps to also figure out how big your body text may need to be, if it’s on A5 or how big/small the images need to be on a1.

While these are my tests, that I did during the lesson, I came back home and needed to think about what content I have already and what kind of other aspects will be contributing towards this layout? Colour schemes will need to be able to work in a way, that it reflects myself. However, they need to work in such a way where it isn’t harmful to anyone else’s eyes. Colour also helps to set a certain mood when someone is looking at it.

Further research and testing:

For some reason, I felt that I needed to do a little more research in to content layouts and to look in to more art/artist related books. I don’t have a nearby library or anything like that in my neighbourhood, although, I found a few of my concept artist books for a Japanese game and as Japanese art has always been a style that has played influence in my drawing style, I took a look in to how they have laid out their content, images or have used a consistent colour scheme to help pull the book together. I was also quite fond of how the book was flimsy, short and magazine-like compared to other artist/concept art books, who usually have these big, broad and bulky hardback designs to them. They were quite hard to carry around or look in to, if you were to look in to the book while standing up. On the other hand, this one is different. It’s light and you can carry it around and look in to it whenever you want to.

Other than that, what I was pretty interested in, is how clear and nicely layed out the content was with in the book. The language is difficult for me to read, but when I look at the content page and connect it with each individual page, I’m able to know where each of the section are located. So, that was pretty handy.

I also enjoy gloss finish on the front and back cover; it makes the colours shine off of the book. I may have to look in to what kind of papers and what size of the book I would like it to be.

Although, I’ve been considering of having the book be more magazine-like in its style, than having it as a hardback.

img_20170129_150853

In relation to this, I tried to reflect once again on how the images could be layed out, as I do have a lot of images, but as I want the book to not have a lot of text and probably only a few captions, I could have it, so they’re tucked either beside the image or on across the image. I need to think about this a little more, due to the text may become distrating and draw attention away from the image.

Leave a Reply

