Portfolio workshop

Just going to briefly put my input/opinion about the portfolio session I had last week with Ricardo.

At first, I was pretty panicked about not having enough work or not having my final outcomes for the workshop prepared, but luckily, I didn’t need them in the end. From this session, it allowed me to think about how I would like to present all of my work for the final hand in.

While, I thought at first form what had been suggested to me previously; I thought that presenting all of the work in a presentation box was the only answer. NO. It wasn’t. I was allowed to think in more depth about how we must consider how the work itself is presented as a piece on it’s own, so from this, I thought about how the majority of my work is large drawings or prints; they could be pinned together between two sheets of nicely designed card? or they could be put in a folder or a case? they could even be bind a certain way, which allows them to them be pinned up?

specification design port.jpg

There were so many different ideas floating around in our group, but I had to take a moment to consider how much work I have and how I could separate it.

The same goes for the sketchbooks. I’m planning on re-binding a couple, due to the spine falling off and the fact that all of them are plain black, I’ve been thinking about possibly covering the covers with textured paper and stamping my hand-made logo lino printing stamp which I made. I want them to have an essence of my own self brand/representation in a way. I feel that I could present the work in some sense, where it’s able to maintain it’s structure, than just placing it in a box or a sleeve.

A while ago, I had composed a folder on Pinterest with portfolio ideas, that I had interest in or to provide me some ideas in how I could present everything: Here.

 

Leave a Reply

